MACARONS!!! The Best Kept Secret In France

My favorite chef calls  Macarons “the best kept secret in France” and I truly agree.

I first came across Macarons when I was interning in Shanghai China, (CHINA?!! YEP!!!). I was working with Kelley Lee (one of the great restaurateurs of Shanghai) at Boxing Cat Brewery as her assistant, we can call this “my introduction to the industry”. She didn’t introduce me to them but the Chef de Cuisine at the time did.

Mike (the chef) took me to a French pastry shop “La Maison du Macaron” to show me what Macarons where and make me addicted like he was. He got me my first Macaron and at that moment in-time I found my new love, “MACARONS”. From that day, I spent at least 10% of my allowances at La Maison du Macaron, trying every type of macaron they had to offer.

They had about 12 different varieties and I most definitely tried them all. Each time I got a different flavor and got a Macaron for everyone I worked with. A Macaron with a cup of Ristretto is all you need start your day off right.

Stayed in China for 3 months and I was known at the store for my Macaron addiction. The day I left, I was given a gift set of Macarons (5 dozen) to remember my days in Shanghai.

Enough with the introduction, let’s get to the main event, Macarons.

“I don’t know anyone who has successfully made their first macaron by reading a recipe in a book. Some things are all about feel, and usually those are the most rewarding…., to really learn a skill or craft requires 10,000 hours of training and practice. That’s roughly 5 years of 40 hours work weeks…” Michael Laiskonis

Macarons are one of those rewarding things after you get the hang of it.

On my first try I was lost because I didn’t have any instructions to go with the list of ingredients.  When I finished making it I thought Macarons were not for me to make but to eat so I stopped trying, BUT I don’t give up that easily. I tried as many times as I could to make it work but all to no avail.  THEN I made it in school with an experienced chef by my side showing my all my mistakes. BOOM!!!

Macaron making is as delicate as the cookie itself.  The batter is very sensitive and you have to get all the component just right to make a perfect macaron. Even with as few as 3 ingredients “sugar, egg whites and almond flour”, it’s one of the hardest things to get right without many failed attempts. Some of the best of the best pastry chef don’t know how to make a perfect Macaron.

“Every conceivable variable can affect the final product: the water content of the egg whites, the sifting, the meringue, the folding, the piping, the drying, the humidity, the baking time and temperature. Again, it’s all about feeling it, knowing it.” Michael Laiskonis

Sure you can tell I love making them?!

Below are pictures of one of many practices and a recipe for you to try as well if you dare. Send me pictures of your attempts and let me know how it went.

Drying process

Just out of the oven...

 

Needed: Stand mixer, silpats, pastry bag, small straight tip

Ingredients:

200g (about 6) egg whites
80g (7 tablespoons) granulated sugar
250g (3 cups)almond flour
400g (3 ¼ cups) 10x confectioner’s sugar
10g (2 teaspoons) egg whites
flavoring, as needed
coloring, as needed

Process:

1. Whip egg whites and sugar on medium speed for 10 minutes.
2. Sift together almond flour and sugar three times. Gradually incorporate into egg whites. Add flavoring,
coloring, and remaining egg whites and mix to a smooth consistency.
3. Pipe onto 4 silpat lined, doubled sheet pans and bake for 5-7 minutes at 275ºF.

 

Leave a comment